Moving House to Bishop Auckland

About Moving House to Bishop Auckland

    • Local authority:  Durham County Council
    • Local Health Provider:  NHS County Durham & Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust
    • Local Police Force: Durham Constabulary
    • Local Housing Associations: Dale & Valley Homes, Sedgefield Borough Homes, Teesdale Housing Association

os_constit_GB_ELECTIONMAPS3464395210064.gifThe Bishop Auckland constituency is located in the South West of County Durham in North East England.

Bishop Auckland is geographically one of the largest constituencies in the UK, extending from the former mining towns of Spennymoor and Coundon in the east, through the historic market town of Barnard Castle, to the rural communities of Middleton-in-Teesdale and Romaldkirk in the west.

The three largest towns in the constituency are Bishop Auckland, Shildon and Spennymoor, all of which have a proud manufacturing and industrial history, while the open expanses of Teesdale and the Pennines have a long tradition hill and tenant farming.

What to see:

Copyright Teesdale MarketingAs well as the picturesque scenery of Teesdale, the constituency also contains a number of tourist attractions and places of interest, including Auckland Castle (the seat of the Bishop of Durham since the 12th century), the National Railway Museum at Shildon, The Bowes Museum (pictured, left) and art gallery, and the 14th century Raby Castle (pictured, below right).

To find out more about visiting constituency and Co. Durham, click here.


Political Composition

Prior to the introduction of a unitary authority for County Durham in May 2009, the constituency was divided into three separate local authorities: Sedgefield, Teesdale and Wear Valley.

Copyright Teesdale MarketingFollowing local elections in April 2008, Durham County Council is Labour controlled, and led by Cllr Simon Henig.

To see the full results of the most recent local elections, click here.

The Bishop Auckland constituency was first contested since 1885 and was one of the first constituencies to elect a female MP when, in 1929, Ruth Dalton won the seat.

To read more about Bishop Auckland’s electoral history, click here.

Bishop Auckland borders no fewer than five constituencies: Durham North West (Hilary Armstrong, Lab), The City of Durham (Roberta Blackman Woods, Lab), Sedgefield (Phil Wilson, Lab), Richmond (William Hague, Con), and Penrith (David Maclean, Con)